Roadside Motors, Lisburn Ulster Master Championships results

The Roadside Motors Lisburn Ulster Masters Badminton Championships took place last week-end at the National Badminton Centre, Lisburn.

Colin Watterson from Alpha, won the mens singles over 35s title. He had to be content with the runners up spot in the overr 35s mens doubles when partnering his clubmate Graham Henderson. They lost out 21-14 21-16 in the decider to Jonathan Perry and Andrew Mc Veigh  from Greenwell St Newtownards. (pictured opposite with William Martin, president of Ulster Badminton)MD35 Winners

The mixed doubles events across all age groups were well supported and the over 50s produced one of the best finals when Michael Turkington of Alpha and Heather Harron of Laghey, beat Graham Henderson and Doreen McClements of Alpha 21-19 14-21 21-18. There was also a close final in the over 55s mixed with the title going to Clogher Valley’s Leslie Funston and Linda Maguire who beat Kieran McMahon and Christine Graham from Academy 21-19 23-21.

Michael Turkington and Michael Watt of Alpha won the mens doubles over 40s title, while Tony Clarke of Killowen and Alpha partnered Jim Morgan of Roundwood to win the over 70s mens doubles.

Brian Moore of Alpha won the over 40s mens singles beating Cathal Sheehy of Mount Pleasant.   Stephen Waddell of Ballyclare, moving into the over 60s mens singles, was the winner over Jim Callan of Dundalk with a with a 21-11 21-10 score line.

Other title winners were:

Mens singles over 70s – Jim Morgan of Roundwood

Mixed doubles over 65s – Adrian Allely and Janet Ferguson of St Annes/Whiteabbey Pres

Mens doubles over 60s – Joe Abbott and Brian McKee of Edenderry/Whiteabbey Pres

Womens doubles over 55s – Lynne Anderson and Carol Dunbar of CIYMS

Mens doubles over 55s – Aubrey Cox and Kieran McMahon of Waterford/Academy

Womens singles – Cherly Evans of Ailesbury

Mens singles over 55s – Gerard Kenna of Roundwood

Womens doubles over 50s – Liz Gault and Pam Peard of Ballyclare/Academy

Mens doubles over 50s – Nelson McDowell and Ian Young of Academy

Mens singles – Simon Thompson of Ballyclare;mens

Mens doubles over 45s – John Kiernan and Willie Stevenson of Sligo City/ Carlow YM

Mixed doubles over 40s – Jonathan Perry and Jayne Orr of Greenwell St

Womens doubles over 40s – Gillian Grimes and Jayne Orr of Greenwell St

Mixed doubles over 35s – Andrew McVeigh and Karen Heaney of Greenwell St/Ballyclare

Womens doubles 35s – Deirdre A Duffy and Fiona Farrell of Dundalk/KADCA

William Martin, Ulster Branch President and Tournament Organiser said “ Thanks to the players who came from all four provinces of Ireland who produced some great badminton in the one hundred and ten matches played. Special thanks also to our Sponsors, Roadside Motors Lisburn.”


This entry was posted in Club News, Competition News, Home, Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.